Show Navigation
Jan 13, 2020

Wind industry welcomes new map to ensure military-compatible developments

Wind industry welcomes new map to ensure military-compatible developments
Texas A&M Natural Resources launches “TENT” as a communications tool to protect airspace

(AUSTIN) —  In response to the launch of Texas A&M Natural Resources Institute’s “Texas Early Notification Tool” designed to facilitate communication between wind energy developers and the state’s military installations, the Advanced Power Alliance offers a statement on behalf of the wind industry and landowners in Texas.

Link to press release:

Attribute to Jeff Clark, president of the Advanced Power Alliance:

“Through early and open communication, the wind industry has worked with the U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) Siting Clearinghouse and helped to establish the Governor’s notification policy in 2016. This dialogue has been key to the successful, military-compatible wind energy development in Texas. As the lead organization representing the wind industry and the rights of property owners to develop their land, we believe this database is another tool to facilitate communication and we welcome its launch.

As energy companies, landowners, and communities work to develop the state’s abundant wind energy resources and deliver economic benefits to their regions, this platform will provide data needed to identify potential obstacles created by the military’s use of airspace. This helps each of us to manage expectations and work to resolve any challenges.”

# # #

About Advanced Power Alliance

The Advanced Power Alliance is the industry trade association promoting the development of energy resources as clean, reliable, affordable, and infinite sources of power.

Headquartered in Austin, Texas, the APA is the advanced power industry’s voice within the fourteen states of the Electric Reliability Council of Texas (ERCOT) and Southwest Power Pool (SPP) systems: Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming. Learn more at